Uncategorized

The Final Stretch

I am in the final weeks of this pregnancy with six weeks or less until the baby arrives. I have been fortunate to have an easy pregnancy without any complications. I on the other hand have not been so healthy. I am on my fifth round of antibiotics, and would not be surprised if I gave birth to a giant tablet of amoxicillin. During the first trimester I had three UTIs and I am now on antibiotics for my second sinus infection.

IMG_5247

I am happy to say that my mental health has been stable throughout this pregnancy. I am still a little worried about the post partum period, but I am feeling confident that my treatment plan will work. I met with my psychiatrist at the Perinatal Mental Health Program last week, and she assured me we are on the right track and will hopefully prevent another episode of post partum psychosis.

Tonight I start back on my mood stabilizer that I stopped when trying to conceive. I am concerned that it may make me sedated or affect my ability to concentrate at work. Though I have been on this medication since I was a teenager I’ve never started it outside of a hospital setting. I’m sure I am just over thinking the situation and I will be absolutely fine.

I still have a few things to do over the next six weeks to get ready for this baby’s arrival. My husband and I have to put the nursery back together, as the room has become a bit of a dumping ground during our home renovations.  I have to pack my hospital bag, and not just for a night or two, but for five or more. I have a small list of things we need to purchase for the baby. We also need to install the infant car seat.

Overall I am feeling pretty good about these last few weeks, and am no longer having the anxious thoughts I was in the beginning. Audrey is looking forward to being a big sister. She requests this book every night at bedtime.

IMG_5256

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Final Stretch

  1. Ah! The last six weeks. I feel like they both fly by and stand still at the same time. I was so swollen and huge by that stage, I pretty much went into hibernation. 😛 I wish you the best of health! How exciting to be adding another little love to your family. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

