Uncategorized

NYE Tradition

img_5108

Four years ago on New Year’s Eve my father past away. On the first anniversary of this very sad part of my life I wanted to do something special. This is when my Husband and I started our NYE tradition of staying home and making a fancy 3-4 course meal accompanied by a champagne toast (sometimes a little earlier than midnight). We have done it every year since my Father’s passing except the year we were struck by a horrible gastro bug.

This year’s menu included:

Baked artichoke dip

Gordan Ramsay’s Beef Wellington with roasted vegetables

Chocolate Pots de Crème

The artichoke dip was surprisingly easy to make. I got to use the brie baker that my husband gave me for Christmas last year, which I have only used once. The recipe does not provide baking instructions. I baked it at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. The chips and crackers were a big hit with Audrey.

img_5105

img_5120

The Beef wellington took longer to cook than instructed on the website I got the recipe from. I used that particular recipe because it was sized for 2 portions. We ended up putting it in the oven for an additional 15 minutes.  I highly recommend watching Gordan Ramsey’s’ Youtube video on how to make it. We watched it after we had to put it back in the oven, and wished I had watched it before.

img_5121

My husband made the Chocolate pots de Crèmes earlier in the day. This is a recipe he has made a million times, however this time it just didn’t work out. The chocolate did not melt fully. The dessert looked like a thick gross liquid full of flecks of chocolate. I joked that it’s a good thing the Chocolate Pots de Crème didn’t turn out this way on the night he proposed or we might not be married. Luckily little Audrey was good when we were at the grocery store that morning. We promised her that if she did not have any tantrums while grocery shopping we could buy ice cream. We ended our evening with ice cream by the fire. Audrey went to bed and we watched The Fall on Netfilx. We did not make it until midnight, and did not have champagne due to the bun in the oven.

I am thinking for next year I might make things a little more exciting for Audrey. Maybe some party hats and noise makers. I love what Ashley from Being Brickner blog did, and that was a Happy Birthday Cake for the New Year. Audrey would love having an extra day a year to blow out candles.

 

One thought on “NYE Tradition

Leave a Reply

